States Where Visitors Don’t Have to Quarantine If They Get Tested for COVID-19

Source: thenationalguard / Flickr

6. Kansas

Residents and out-of-state visitors are required to quarantine upon arrival if they have been participating in any gatherings of more than 500 people where individuals did not wear masks or were not keeping a physical distance of at least 6 feet. All cruise passengers are also required to self-isolate.

The quarantine period may be shortened if asymptomatic individuals take a PCR test on the sixth day of isolation. If the test comes back negative, quarantine is over on the eighth day.

Asymptomatic people in quarantine who choose not to get tested may be released from isolation on day 11.

Source: Plyushkin / iStock via Getty Images

7. Maine

Unless they are from New Hampshire or Vermont, all visitors have to quarantine for 10 days or the duration of their trip, whichever is shorter. Visitors can avoid self-isolation if they sign a document stating they had a negative PCR test result or antigen coronavirus test in the 72 hours prior to arriving.

Visitors whose test results are not ready yet are required to quarantine until a negative result is received.

The restrictions apply to residents who go on a day trip to a non-exempt state as well. Maine residents who visit New Hampshire or Vermont are not required to get tested or quarantine upon returning.

Source: perspective / Flickr

8. Maryland

Visitors to Maryland are strongly advised to obtain a negative coronavirus test either 72 hours before arriving or immediately upon arrival.

Any Maryland resident traveling to a state with a 10% of higher positivity rate — which as of Feb. 16 are Texas, Oklahoma, Kentucky, Virginia, South Carolina, and New Hampshire, according to the CDC — should get tested or quarantined.

Visitors arriving from Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia and Washington D.C. — areas very close to Maryland — are exempt.

Failure to comply with the order may result in a $5,000 fine.

Source: Maddie Meyer / Getty Images News via Getty Images

9. Massachusetts

Unless they are commuting, just passing through Massachusetts, or are from a state with a low coronavirus transmission rate, travelers over the age of 10 are required to quarantine for 10 days or show a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours prior to arrival. Those awaiting test results must quarantine. Everyone over the age of 18 must fill out a travel form.

As of Feb. 16, the states and territories with a low coronavirus transmission rate are Hawaii, North Dakota, and Puerto Rico.

Failure to comply may result in a $500 fine a day.

Source: sanjeri / E+ via Getty Images

10. New Hampshire

A 10-day quarantine is required for all visitors and residents coming from abroad, a cruise ship, or any state other than the New England states of Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island.

Asymptomatic travelers can get a PCR test starting on the seventh day of isolation, and if it’s negative, they are free to leave quarantine.

Travelers have the option to quarantine for 10 days in their home state before arriving in New Hampshire.