Every State’s Travel Guide for Residents and Visitors

Source: maximkabb / Getty Images

Hawaii
> Population: 1.4 million
> Cumulative COVID-19 cases as of July 28: 1,711 (2nd fewest)
> Cumulative COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people: 120 (the fewest)

A mandatory 14-day self-quarantine for all visitors, including returning residents, remains in place until August 31. Violators face a fine of up to $5,000. Further, visitors who refuse to be quarantined will be forced to return home immediately without leaving the airport.

Starting September 1, visitors who present a negative COVID-19 test — taken no more than 72 days before boarding a flight to Hawaii — will not have to quarantine for 14 days. Travelers who have chosen not to get pre-tested are required to self-quarantine. No coronavirus tests will be provided at airports.

Source: mattalberts / Getty Images

Idaho
> Population: 1.8 million
> Cumulative COVID-19 cases as of July 28: 18,694 (13th fewest)
> Cumulative COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people: 1,066 (25th most)

Idaho, except Ada County, which includes Boise, is in phase 4 of reopening and currently there are no travel restrictions. Out-of-state visitors are no longer required, but are encouraged, to self-quarantine for two weeks. Visitors are asked to maintain a physical distance of at least 6 feet from others, wash their hands often, and wear face coverings when social distancing is not feasible.

Source: JaySi / iStock via Getty Images

Illinois
> Population: 12.7 million
> Cumulative COVID-19 cases as of July 28: 173,731 (6th most)
> Cumulative COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people: 1,364 (17th most)

As of July 28, there were no travel restrictions for people arriving from other U.S. states. Visitors from countries with widespread, ongoing transmission have to self-quarantine for 14 days. There is a statewide face-covering mandate.

People visiting or returning to Chicago from Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah are required to self-quarantine for 14 days from their last contact with those states. Violators face fines of up to $500 per day, up to a maximum of $7,000.

Source: Sean Pavone / Getty Images

Indiana
> Population: 6.7 million
> Cumulative COVID-19 cases as of July 28: 63,678 (20th most)
> Cumulative COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people: 952 (23rd fewest)

As of July 28, there were no statewide travel restrictions to or from Indiana. However, Indiana’s travel restrictions are enforced on a county basis. There are eight counties on either advisories or watches, meaning travel or activities may be restricted in certain situations.

Source: Ron_Thomas / Getty Images

Iowa
> Population: 3.2 million
> Cumulative COVID-19 cases as of July 28: 42,738 (22nd fewest)
> Cumulative COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people: 1,354 (18th most)

Iowa has not issued statewide travel restrictions as of July 28, though residents returning from out of state are strongly encouraged to self-quarantine for 14 days. Visitors are asked to follow CDC public health guidelines.