These Countries Are Open for Tourists This Summer After COVID-19 Shut Them Down

Source: orpheus26 / Getty Images

21. Belgium
> Open since: 6/15/2020
> Allows visitors from: Most EU and a few other European countries

Belgium currently allows travel without restrictions from Germany, Austria, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, and Lithuania. Travelers from a number of other European countries are subject to quarantine or other restrictions. Travel is not allowed from Cyprus, Denmark, Spain, Finland, Ireland, Hungary, Malta, and Norway. People outside of Europe are not permitted to visit yet.

Source: nantonov / Getty Images

22. Czech Republic
> Open since: 6/15/2020
> Allows visitors from: European countries

The Czech Republic is allowing travel from the EU and several other European countries without restrictions. It is maintaining a ban on countries identified as high risk: Portugal, Sweden, and part of Poland. Czech citizens returning from those countries must be tested or quarantined. Belgium and the U.K. are considered medium risk, and nationals of those countries are still not allowed entry.

Source: AndreyKrav / iStock via Getty Images

23. The Netherlands
> Open since: 6/15/2020
> Allows visitors from: 30 countries

The Netherlands has reopened to tourists from all EU and Schengen Area countries with the exception of Sweden and the U.K. There is no quarantine requirement. Non-essential travel from people from third countries will be allowed after July 1. Flights from affected areas to the Caribbean part of the Netherlands — Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba — will be allowed after July 1 as well.

Source: MaksimMazur / iStock via Getty Images

24. Montenegro
> Open since: 6/1/2020
> Allows visitors from: Countries with a rate of transmission less than 25 per 100,000 inhabitants

There have been no COVID-19 cases in Montenegro as of May 24, according to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Foreign nationals have been able to enter the country as of June 1. There are no restrictions on people arriving from countries with fewer than 25 active coronavirus cases per 100,000 inhabitants. Quarantine is required for arrivals from countries exceeding 25 cases per 100,000.

Source: Gatsi / Getty Images

25. Spain
> Opening: 6/21/2020
> Allows visitors from: Schengen Area, U.K.

Spain, among the worst-hit countries in Europe by the coronavirus pandemic, currently has a two-week quarantine in place for all international travelers. The country plans to open its borders and lift quarantine restrictions to members of the Schengen Area and the U.K. on June 21. The border with Portugal will reopen on July 1.