These Countries Are Open for Tourists This Summer After COVID-19 Shut Them Down

Source: JaCZhou / E+ via Getty Images

6. Italy
> Open since: 6/3/2020
> Allows visitors from: EU, UK, Schengen Area

Italy reopened its international and regional borders on June 3 and ended the 14-day quarantine requirement for visitors arriving from other countries. The regulations apply to those coming from countries that are members of the EU, the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland, and Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican. The rules do not apply to the United States. Travel bans on other nations remain in place at least until July 1. Travelers who test positive for COVID-19 or have been in contact with those with the virus must adhere to mandatory quarantine measures.

Source: Wildroze / E+ via Getty Images

7. St. Lucia
> Open since: 6/4/2020
> Allows visitors from: All countries

St. Lucia began a phased reopening on June 4. Visitors must present certified proof that they have tested negative for the virus within 48 hours of boarding the flight there. Health officials of the island nation may conduct random temperature tests at ports of entry. Visitors to St. Lucia are required to wear face masks and practice social distancing. According to the World Travel & Tourism Council, tourism in St. Lucia employs more than 20% of the workforce and contributes about 14% to the country’s GDP.

Source: Sean Pavone / iStock via Getty Images

8. Antigua and Barbuda
> Open since: 6/4/2020
> Allows visitors from: All countries

Like most of the Caribbean vacation spots, the economy of Antigua and Barbuda heavily relies on tourism. Upon arrival, visitors must undergo a COVID-19 test and stay in their hotel for up to 24 hours until the test results are known. Travelers also must wear a face mask in public areas.

Source: SeanPavonePhoto / iStock via Getty Images

9. Portugal
> Open since: 6/6/2020
> Allows visitors from: EU

Portugal began on June 6 allowing visitors coming by air from EU nations except for Italy and Spain. Portugal also resumed flights from the U.S. two days earlier but will only allow in those carrying a Portuguese passport. The government will not allow U.S. citizens in until the United States removes travel restrictions on European visitors. Visitors in Portugal have to wear masks and adhere to social distancing rules. Those traveling to the Azore islands have to test negative for COVID-19 within 72 hours before arriving.

Source: Leonid Andronov / iStock

10. United Kingdom
> Open since: 6/8/2020
> Allows visitors from: All countries

The United Kingdom, one of the most visited countries in the world by tourists, required as of June 8 those arriving in the U.K. to self-isolate for 14 days, or the duration of their visit, whichever is shorter. Visitors who fail to self-isolate or do not provide accurate contact information can face severe monetary penalties. The requirement will be revisited every three weeks.