These Countries Are Open for Tourists This Summer After COVID-19 Shut Them Down

Source: Remedios / Getty Images

1. Slovenia
> Open since: 5/15/2020
> Allows visitors from: All countries

Slovenia added on June 15 two countries, Italy and Montenegro, to its list of epidemiologically safe countries. All border crossings with Croatia are now open. As of June 13, the Balkan nation required visitors from 32 nations, including the United States, to quarantine for 14 days, because of what the Slovenian government said was a “deterioration of epidemiological conditions.”

Source: sorincolac / iStock via Getty Images

2. Croatia
> Open since: 5/16/2020
> Allows visitors from: 10 European countries

Croatia restored on May 28 conditions for visiting the Balkan country to the ones before the pandemic to citizens of 10 members of the European Union: the Czech Republic, Hungary, Austria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovenia, Germany, and the Slovak Republic. Restrictions for visitors from these countries have been lifted.

Source: guenterguni / E+ via Getty Images

3. Tanzania
> Open since: 5/17/2020
> Allows visitors from: All countries

The African nation of Tanzania announced on May 17 it was admitting visitors without conditions, one of the earliest countries to do so. President John Magufuli said no foreign visitor will be forced to quarantine. However, visitors are asked to observe protective measures such as social distancing, wearing a mask, and washing hands with soap and water.

Source: SeanPavonePhoto / iStock via Getty Images

4. US Virgin Islands
> Open since: 6/1/2020
> Allows visitors from: All countries

The U.S. Virgin Islands announced on May 26 that the tourist destination will reopen to leisure travelers on June 1. Commissioner of Tourism Joseph Boschulte said in a press release that a state of emergency because of the pandemic will remain in effect through July 11. The territory has been building COVID-19 mitigation and response capacity, and preparing protocols to protect locals and tourists.

Source: tihomir_todorov / Getty Images

5. Bulgaria
> Open since: 6/1/2020
> Allows visitors from: EU, Schengen Area, UK

Bulgaria, a popular ski and beach destination, currently allows visitors from the EU, Schengen Area (26 European countries without border controls between them), Serbia, Macedonia, and the U.K. However, according to the U.S. Embassy in Bulgaria, arrivals from Belgium, Portugal, Sweden, and the U.K. must quarantine for 14 days.