Teams That Have Never Won a Championship (And How Close They Came)

Source: Steve Dykes / Getty Images

Memphis Grizzlies
> Active since: 1995-96
> Playoff appearances: 10
> Highest round reached: Conference Finals
> Franchise win pct.: 41.2%

Beginning in 2011, the Memphis Grizzlies made seven straight playoff appearances, but they have never advanced past the Conference Finals.

Source: Stacy Revere / Getty Images

Milwaukee Brewers
> Active since: 1969
> Playoff appearances: 6
> Highest round reached: World Series
> Franchise win pct.: 48.1%

In over 50 seasons, the Milwaukee Brewers have made the postseason just six times. Their lone World Series appearance came in 1982, when the Brewers lost in seven games to the St. Louis Cardinals.

Source: Ronald Cortes / Getty Images

Minnesota Timberwolves
> Active since: 1989-90
> Playoff appearances: 9
> Highest round reached: Conference Finals
> Franchise win pct.: 40.0%

Beginning in 1997, Kevin Garnett led the Minnesota Timberwolves to eight straight playoff appearances — which ended in seven straight first-round exits before the T-Wolves lost in the 2004 Western Conference Finals. The team has been back to the postseason only once since.

Source: Alex Pantling / Getty Images

Minnesota Vikings
> Active since: 1961
> Playoff appearances: 29
> Highest round reached: Super Bowl
> Franchise win pct.: 54.8%

In the early Super Bowl era, the Vikings were a great team. Minnesota made the big game four times — in the 1969, 1973, 1974, and 1976 seasons — only to lose each time. Since then, the Vikings have had several heartbreaking missed field goals that spoiled their title aspirations.

Source: Elsa / Getty Images

Minnesota Wild
> Active since: 2000
> Playoff appearances: 9
> Highest round reached: Conference Finals
> Franchise point pct.: 54.4%

After losing the North Stars to Dallas in 1993, Minnesota got a new team, the Wild, in 2000. In nine playoff appearances, the Wild have yet to make the Stanley Cup Finals.