11. New Jersey
Visitors and residents returning to New Jersey from any place other than New York, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, and Delaware are asked to get a COVID-19 test one to three days before their trip and then again three to five days after arriving in New Jersey.
Even if the pre-trip test is negative, a seven-day quarantine period is still recommended.
Visitors from outside New York, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, and Delaware are asked to fill out an online survey detailing where they have visited and where they stayed.
People who have recovered from COVID-19 in the past three months are not required to quarantine or get tested, as long as they do not have symptoms.
12. New York
Visitors to New York may avoid the full mandatory 10-day quarantine with a series of tests. Travelers who show a negative COVID-19 test taken no more than 72 hours before arrival must also quarantine for three days after arriving. On the fourth day, they then have to take another COVID-19 test, and if it is negative, they may leave quarantine. Those not wanting to take the tests must complete the full quarantine.
Visitors from states that are contiguous with New York are exempted from the quarantine protocol. People who have been out of New York for less than 24 hours do not need to get a test or quarantine but they have to get tested on their fourth day in the state.
All visitors must fill out a Health Department traveler form.
A failure to comply with these rules may result in a fine of up to $10,000.
Anyone entering Pennsylvania must show proof of a negative coronavirus test taken in the 72 hours before arriving. Otherwise, they must quarantine for 10 days or until a negative test result can be shown. A failure to comply with the order may result in a fine between $25 and $300.
14. Rhode Island
Anyone visiting from an international destination is required to quarantine for 10 days or provide proof of a negative result from a test taken within 72 hours before arrival. Those who test negative at least five days into their quarantine can stop self-isolating on the seventh day.
Anyone visiting from a higher-risk state also must quarantine for 10 days or until they show a negative result from a COVID-19 test. Visitors must also complete a certificate of compliance.
The states identified on Feb. 16 as high risk are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.
All visitors to Vermont, and returning residents, must quarantine for 14 days. Asymptomatic travelers may get a PCR test on the seventh day of their quarantine. If the result is negative, they are free to leave quarantine.
Sponsored: Tips for Investing
A financial advisor can help you understand the advantages and disadvantages of investment properties. Finding a qualified financial advisor doesn’t have to be hard. SmartAsset’s free tool matches you with up to three financial advisors who serve your area, and you can interview your advisor matches at no cost to decide which one is right for you. If you’re ready to find an advisor who can help you achieve your financial goals, get started now.
Investing in real estate can diversify your portfolio. But expanding your horizons may add additional costs. If you’re an investor looking to minimize expenses, consider checking out online brokerages. They often offer low investment fees, helping you maximize your profit.