All visitors who are over the age of 10 must upload to an online travel portal proof of a negative molecular-based COVID-19 test taken 72 hours prior to arriving in Alaska. Visitors are also required to submit a travel declaration and self-isolation plan.
Visitors who get tested before departure for Alaska and who are still waiting for their results must quarantine until proof of a negative finding can be submitted. Visitors arriving without a test can get one for $250 and must self-quarantine while awaiting results, which may take three days or more. Alaska recommends that all visitors take a second test five to 14 days after arrival.
Nonresidents who tested positive for the COVID-19 in the previous three months and have documentation they have recovered, don’t have to get tested.
Residents have two options — get tested or quarantine for two weeks.
Colorado does not have a statewide test mandate for incoming travelers, but Pitkin County, which includes the popular ski destination of Aspen, does. All visitors who are older than 10 and who are staying at least one night in the county must show a negative COVID-19 test taken no more than three days before arrival.
Nonresidents coming to Connecticut are required to self-quarantine for 10 days unless they are residents of New Jersey, New York, or Rhode Island. A health form must also be submitted.
Travelers can avoid or shorten how long they are in quarantine by showing a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of arrival in Connecticut. A test can be taken after arriving, but visitors must quarantine until proof of the negative result is emailed or faxed to the Commissioner of Public Health.
Visitors who recovered from the virus within 90 days of going to Connecticut are not required to quarantine if proof of their positive test is submitted.
Failure to comply may result in a fine of up to $500 per violation.
Travelers are able to avoid the mandatory 10-day quarantine on the islands of Hawaii, Oahu, and Maui if they present a negative nucleic acid amplification test (NNAT) result from an approved testing site. The test must be taken within 72 hours of the final leg of the trip.
Visitors who are 5 years and older and whose test results are pending must quarantine. Then, the results must be uploaded online into a mandatory health form. Travelers also have the option of bringing a hard copy when boarding their flight.
The island of Kauai requires a 10-day quarantine for any out-of-state visitors regardless of pre-trip test result. The quarantine period, however, can be shortened if the visitors are staying in “resort bubble” hotels. Those are hotels that allow guests to leave their rooms and enjoy certain services, but the guests have to get tested for COVID-19 at least 72 hours after their stay begins. If the test is negative, the guests are no longer required to quarantine in the resort.
Some trans-Pacific passengers may be required to get a second COVID-19 test, depending on which county in Hawaii they are traveling to. The county of Hawaii is randomly testing up to 25% arriving passengers at the airport. Maui and Kauai counties are requesting a second test 72 hours after arrival. The second test is free.
Illinois has no statewide travel restrictions, but Chicago does. The city has implemented a two-tier color-coded travel system. Visitors arriving from “yellow” areas are not required to quarantine or show a negative COVID-19 test result. Visitors from “orange” states and territories — which as of Feb. 16 are all but Alaska, Hawaii, North Dakota, and Puerto Rico — must quarantine for 10 days or show a negative result from a COVID-19 test taken within three days before arrival in Chicago.